Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 23, 2010

What I’ve been reading recently…

January 15th

I know, it’s been a while.. I’m going to be good this year and keep things much more up to date here. Over the Christmas holidays I got to have another reading binge. it included What Maisie Knew by Henry James ( I know, I’m getting addicted). How can a book in which so very little happens be so engrossing? I also got the new Donna Leon, About Face as a present. I really am addicted to this series, and this one’s a real cracker. I love Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie books, but I hadn’t read Human Croquet. I did enjoy it, but I was a bit baffled by it too… Great new fantasy from Gillian Philip with Firebrand, the first of a series which is obviously going to be very big indeed. I’m currently hooting my way through Diana Wynne-Jones Tough Guide to Fantasy Land. So many things I must try to avoid in my own writing, pointed out in a very funny book. 

July 12th

Summer is here… or at least until tomorrow when the rain and wind return. At least that means I won’t feel guility for sitting indoors with a book. I re-read To Kill A Mockingbird last week, in honour of its 50th birthday. It’s one of my very favourite books, and I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read it. I swear I enjoy it more every time. I must go back and re-read The Little Stranger by Donna Tartt too. It has all sorts of echoes of Mockingbird. I’m still ploughing through Peter Ackroyd’s Venice, but this is a reflection on me, not the book, which is fascinating. I did however, manage to finish The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James. It’s so dense it’s like eating a wardrobe with a teaspoon, but my goodness, it’s worth the effort. You just have to surrender yourself. And finally, I’ve been reading two new children’s books by authors I know: Rocking Horse War  by Lari Don and Witch Silver by Anne Forbes. Both great fun adventure stories set in Scotland.

 

Why not tell me what you’ve been reading recently, or recommend something you think I’d like?

Leave a Reply

Categories

