Posted by: gillarbuthnott | January 15, 2011

10th January 2011

Happy New Year! One of my resolutions is to vastly improve my blog and website. There – I’ve said it in public, so I’ll have to try and do it now. The snow made it to 13 inches in my garden before Christmas, then eventually melted, but there’s another couple of inches at the moment, so it’s back into the hiking boots and wellies again. I did a lot of eating and drinking over the holidays, but not a great deal of writing. However, I have been working on a short story that I hope will see the light of day in the spring. The last short story I tried to write ended up as a 25000 word novel, so it wouldn’t be true to say I’m a natural, but I have managed to keep this one to the right length, which is an achievement in itself for me! I’ll tell you more about it once I know if it’s been accepted.

 

I’ve just realised that I somehow forgot to mention on the blog that The Keepers’ Daughter has now been published in Germany as ‘Tochter der Huter’. I can’t tell you how strange it is to flick through a book I wrote and not understand a word of it. For all I know it could be a completely different story in there

Leave a Reply

Categories

