Posted by: gillarbuthnott | February 19, 2011

Thankyou, Martin Amis. Did I just say that?

Well, I’m sorry, but what a donkey Martin Amis is to have said what he did on the BBC programme ‘Faulks on Fiction’… If you’ve missed the fabulous quote, here it is: ‘If I had a serious brain injury I might well write a children’s book….I would never write about someone that forced me to write at a lower register than what I can write.’ (Bit of an echo of Ernie Wise’s “the play what I wrote” in that last sentence?)

Where to start? Possibly with the utter tastelessness of trivialising serious brain injury?

Moving on, there’s the contempt that this comment directs at all children. (That’s your next generation of readers, Martin. Might be better not to piss them all off.) I’m sure the poor dear didn’t really mean to imply that children have nothing of real excellence available to read, nor merit it either, but if he did, I just hope Mr Amis can bring himself to sprinkle a little magic on this parched corner of the literary world…

However, if he hadn’t made this ill-considered comments, Patricia Storm would never have been inspired to create a wonderful series of caricatures of Amis as characters from children’s literature. Look and laugh!

So, hey, thanks Martin!

Leave a Reply

Categories

