Posted by: gillarbuthnott | March 20, 2011

This week, I am mostly reading…

Well, I’ve broken my New Year Resolution to post every week, but only because I’ve been horribly busy at work (at the day job, that is, not writing. Not that I haven’t been writing. This is getting too complicated for something in parentheses; I’ll stop now.)

So, actually, this week I have been mostly reading text books, worksheets and asssessments, but only a lunatic or a masochist would want to hear about that.

In terms of novels, I’ve recently read One Day by David Nicholls. Hmmm… Enjoyable, but maybe a wee bit overhyped? Or has it made such an impact because it’s an unusual style of book for a man to write? Or is that sexist? Maybe I’d have found it fresher if I didn’t remember a splendid film called Same Time Next Year, in which Ellen Burstyn and Alan Alda met up for one weekend a year over a similar time span.

I’ve just finished Solstice Wood by Patricia McKillip. She’s an author I love, and I usually gobble up new books as they come out, but I was a bit underwhelmed by this one. It was good, but it won’t stay in my mind the way some of her other novels have. I’m currently in the middle of Blackout by Connie Willis, another of my favourite writers. I’m really enjoying this one, though I haven’t quite worked out what’s happening yet.  I’ve also just started The Faded Map by Alistair Moffat, as a bit of a contrast. It’s a non fiction look at the lost kingdoms of southern Scotland.

Sitting on my to-read shelf, where I’m determined they’ll stay until my Easter holidays are: Started Early, Took My Dog by the wonderful Kate Atkinson; Solar by Ian McEwan; and True Grit by Charles Portis . That’s there of course because I recently saw the fabulous Coen Brothers movie. Hurry up holidays, I want to start reading them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

