Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 16, 2011

Wanted: Big Cat Sightings…

Okay; a bit of explanation is probably in order here.

A few years ago I wrote a novel – Winterbringers – set in Fife. When I was researching it, I found out all sorts of interesting bits of myths and folk lore about the area; so many in fact that they wouldn’t all fit into the plot. One of the plot strands I was really sorry to lose was Big Cat sightings. Now Fife seems to have been a bit of a hot spot for these over the past decade or so, and I have spoken personally to a couple of people who have had close encounters of the feline kind. My favourite sighting so far was one which took place in the playground of Bell Baxter High School in Cupar in broad daylight. Clearly not a shy and retiring sort of cat, that one.

I have no trouble believing that these cats could really be there, and be largely un-noticed for most of the time. I used to own a large and portly pure white moggy, and it was extraordinarily easy to simply not notice him if he kept still and decided that he didn’t want to be seen. I see no reason why a large black or sandy coloured cat wouldn’t be successful if it decided to keep itself to itself in the countryside.

Anyway, I thought I would write another Fife novel, and I’m determined that this time the cats are going to play a major part in the plot, so I would really love to hear from anyone – especially in Fife – who has a Big Cat sighting story. Please do get in touch!

Leave a Reply

Categories

