Posted by: gillarbuthnott | June 29, 2011

Red Carpet Report

Last night, I walked the red carpet (virtual, admittedly) for the first and probably only time in my life, when I attended the world premiere of the film of my novel ‘Winterbringers’. This has been produced with loving care and much blood, sweat and tears by Primary 5/6 and their inspirational teacher Miss Raffaella Arcidiaco, of Parsons Green School in Edinburgh.

I said at the time that JK Rowling will not be any more proud when she attends the premiere of the final Harry Potter film than I am, and I meant it. A project like this takes hundreds of hours of dedication and determination, and is much easier to abandon than to finish. The pupils are absolute stars for seeing it through despite countless technical challenges, and it’s wonderful to see a school being so supportive of something a bit out of the ordinary.

The pupils weren’t just actors. They had input into the script, scouted locations, edited and even wrote music. I hope to hear more about them next year – they’re a hugely talented bunch of people. They are an inspiration to me to work much harder, so I’m off now to get on with the new book featuring the same characters…

Leave a Reply

Categories

