Posted by: gillarbuthnott | July 10, 2011

Summer is the time for… books!

Summer is here, allegedly, although here in Edinburgh it’s brought flash floods, thunderstorms and hail rather than more conventional summer weather. However, it must be summer, because the Edinburgh International Book Festival programme is out.

The day that the programme arrives is one of my favourite days of the year. I save it until I have a couple of hours free to browse properly, knowing that it will be two hours of bliss, spoiled only by the necessity of deciding between events that are on at the same time, and the worry over whether I’ll actually get the tickets I’ve applied for.

This year has brought an added bonus, in the form of several deliveries of books. For the first time, I’m chairing some children’s events, which means I get sent books to familiarise myself with the work of the authors I’m intoducing. So now I can legitimately sit and read and tell my family I’m working hard. It’s a tough job, as they say.

I also have an event of my own, a creative writing workshop sponsored by the Pushkin Prizes, on Monday the 29th of August. Come along, all you budding authors, and find out what to do when you don’t know what to write…

This week I’ve seen the rough illustrations for my picture book for the first time. I am so in awe of people who can draw, and it’s great seeing my words brought to life like this. I’ve also written a blog for Scottish Book Trust about the Winterbringers film premiere.

Leave a Reply

Categories

