Posted by: gillarbuthnott | October 5, 2011

I wish I was a neutrino…

There are times I can’t see how I can get everything done unless I can travel a bit faster than the speed of light. OK; I’d settle for at the speed of light, or even quite a bit slower than the speed of light but a lot faster than I can currently move. And of course, I don’t really mean move. It’s just an aaaargh sort of week. I’ve got masses on with the day job in teaching, and lots of bits and pieces that need finished off before half term next week, plus I’m trying to get me and the family organised for a holiday, plus I’ve arranged to meet various people, plus I’m madly (and I mean that in every sense) trying to finish off a novel draft over the next couple of weeks.

Despite all that though, I have managed to read a few books recently. I’m trying to economise by doing a bit of re-reading of books I already own. (I once had a year when I didn’t buy a single book and just re-read. It was strangely liberating not to feel the need to keep up with new releases. But that’s another story.) Don’t worry though, bookshop owners, I seem to have bought just as much as usual anyway.

A friend loaned me William Nicholson’s Wind on Fire trilogy, which I very much enjoyed. They’re books I’ve picked up and put down in bookshops a few times, but I loved them once I started reading, particularly the second one, Slaves of the Mastery. I’m also in the middle of reading the first of Joan Lennon’s Slightly Jones mysteries: Slightly Jones and the Case of the London Dragonfish. At last, someone else who’s as inspired by museums as I am! Slightly is a great heroine, and I’m hoping that her mysterious name will be explained by the end of the book. Congratulations to Joan, who’s just been listed for  a Scottish Childrens’ Book Award.

Right. Back to the editing…

Responses

  1. It’s so cool to be in the same blog as William Nicholson! Thanks!

    Good luck with breaking/approaching/emulating the speed of light thing – you tell me how to do that and I’ll tell you why she’s called Slightly Jones. Do we have a deal?

  2. Definitely a deal. I’ll fit in super-light-speed travel between marking homework and editing the manuscript! All I needed was an incentive.

  3. I think the blue and white icon thing may very well be a picture of your brain! MRI slice, sort of thing.

  4. No…. it’s much too well organised. It’s actually a sign of my incompetence, since I still can’t find a way to get a photo of the outside of my head to show up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

