Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 4, 2011

Golems and Ice Cream

I’ve been a very bad person, and haven’t blogged for two whole weeks… This is mainly because the day job (teaching) has been insanely busy, but I’m through that now, and gently coasting towards the end of term. Unfortunately of course, being so busy at school means there hasn’t been a lot of action on the writing front, but all that’s about to change as I put in a sprint finish to the year and try to finish off a couple of redrafts of novels and do a bit more work on the fiction-with-science project.

I have managed to read How To Build A Golem And Terrify People though, and loved it! Funny, quirky, genuinely creepy in bits, and with unexpected twists to the plot. I’m already looking forward to whatever Alette Willis writes next.

Had a long talk about writing with a fellow author over dinner yesterday which made me realise a) how rare it is to get the chance to do it (really talk about writing that is, not have dinner) and b) how incredibly useful it is in making you see what you’re doing in a different way. Very therapeutic on many levels, especially the mascarpone and strawberry ice cream. Must do it more often.

Responses

  1. Stumbled onto your blog and just had to comment – this post’s name just drew me in. I think I’m going to have to take a look at that book! (And strawberry and mascarpone ice cream has me drooling.)

    • Well, I would definitely recommend them both!

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed my book, Gill! Can I just correct the title? It’s “How to Make a Golem and Terrify People”. I just wanted to say that I attended a workshop you led at the Edinburgh International Book Festival a couple of years ago (maybe 3) and that workshop helped to give me the motivation to get serious about my writing. So thank you for the workshop as well.

    • Oh, gosh, of course. I’m really sorry! And it’s so nice of you to say that about the workshop. I love doing them…

  3. I should just mention that “restoryingtheearth” is me, Alette J Willis: http://www.AletteJWillis.com

  4. Want more talking! Want more ice cream!

    • Much, much more of both…. Soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

