Posted by: gillarbuthnott | January 17, 2012

Mockingbird Blues

To Kill a Mockingbird QuotesI’ve just finished reading The Help (totally brilliant), and was trying to persuade my husband and son to give it a try. Talk turned to To Kill A Mockingbird, which my son has read and enjoyed. Now, if you know my husband, you’ll know that he is not a great reader of fiction (No, I don’t quite understand how I ended up married to him.), and when I tried to persuade him that he really ought to read Mockingbird, he refused on the grounds that ‘Lots of people have read it already, so I don’t need to.’  How depressing is that??

He’s never even seen the film, and neither has my son. He made the interesting point that his generation wouldn’t even consider watching it, because it’s in black and white.

To me it’s an unimprovable film, but I suppose (current success of The Artist notwithstanding) he is making a reasonable point, BUT who could possibly play Atticus Finch as well as the beautiful Gregory Peck? The nearest contemporary equivalent I can think of is George Clooney, but maybe some of you out there have a better suggestion…

Responses

  1. many b&w films are far better for it.
    eg some like it hot
    mrs miniver

  2. Couldn’t agree more, but apparently to teenagers, they’re basically invisible! It’ll be interesting to see if that changes on the back of the success of The Artist.


Leave a Reply

Categories

