Posted by: gillarbuthnott | February 27, 2012

Irritating Heroes…

 

I’ve been putting off writing this blog, because it was always going to be about irritating heroes, (having been about irritating heroines last week), because I couldn’t think of any really irritating ones. I know, a shameful, sexist confession.

Mr Darcy and Mr Bingham in Pride and Prejudice are, to be sure, fairly irritating, but they don’t end up ruining their own or anyone else’s lives, so I felt it was a bit unfair to concentrate on them.

Then I had a brainwave: of course – how could I not have thought of him before – it’s Edward Cullen! Oh, what a tedious wretch he is. It’s a shame the werewolf hadn’t just torn him apart during book one and saved a lot of innocent paper from a fate worse than death.

OK, that’s not fair, I actually quite enjoyed the books, but EC must be one of the most vapid heroes ever to stir the loins of teenage girlhood. (And Robert Pattinson does look a little, tiny, bit like Jedward, don’t you think?)

Anyway, this will probably be my last post, as I expect to be hunted down by furious Twihards shortly after I post it.

So, who really, really irritates you on the page??

Leave a Reply

Categories

