Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 6, 2012

Did I Say That?

ImageWhile obsessively checking my WordPress stats the other day (as you do), I noticed that I’d had lots of views (hooray) and that the most popular search term had been ‘Themes in The Keepers’ Daughter’. Was it a book group seeking answers? A school project? A moment of internet madness? I don’t suppose I’ll ever know, but it did get me thinking…

Firstly, the Seekers aren’t going to find any answers here, and secondly, what are those themes they’re trying to find?

I’m sure I’m not the only writer to be constantly surprised by what other people read into things I’ve written. I’ve never set out to include a theme of any sort in my fiction in my entire career – all I’m trying to do is write a story you can’t bear to stop reading. I was a bit taken aback then, to discover that one of the themes in my first novel – The Chaos Clock – was coping with bereavement. Now, if I put my Readers Glasses on, I can just about see that, but I certainly didn’t set out to weave it into the story.

So, what are these themes people were trying to extreact from Keepers’ Daughter? I feel I’m the person least likely to identify them properly, but I’d love to know…

Leave a Reply

Categories

