Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 29, 2012

Telling Tail Tales

Oh, I’m so behind with this blog… I blame it on the weather. I just want to hibernate.

Anyway… I had a lovely time introducing Rory the mouse to a great audience at the Scottish Storytelling Centre last Saturday. It was my first experience of reading my picture book – Lost at the Zoo – and I wasn’t sure how difficult it would be to keep the attention of a crowd of 2-6 year olds. (Turns out I needn’t have worried.)  I made some props!, just in case, including zebra, lion and rhino tails, some fake flamingo feathers, and big round glasses for owl eyes. I was foxed however, by how to make an anteater tail or nose. I’ll find a way in time for the Edinburgh International Book Festival, but meantime I did come across this fabulous YouTube clip while I was looking for a way to make one. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypRz4EpeIlQ

Leave a Reply

Categories

