Posted by: gillarbuthnott | September 2, 2012

The Joys of Being a Bad Mother…

I know I shouldn’t have done this, but it was irresistible. I’m just wondering now, how long can I keep this going?

I’m going into hospital tomorrow to get a new hip (and no, I’m not nearly as old as that makes me sound. It’s the result of a childhood injury. Apparently.) I was asked at my preop assessment to think about minimising any trip hazards in my house. The biggest trip hazard is undoubtedly the cat, as any cat owner will understand.

But I’ve done a Bad Thing. I’ve convinced my children, who are 16 and 18 and reasonably sane, that the hospital is going to give us a high visibility waistcoat for the cat to wear. They are refusing to help wrestle the cat into it, and are worried that if he wears it he will be

a) bullied by other cats

b) kidnapped

c)photographed by so many Japanese tourists that he is permanently emotionally scarred.

Note that they are not worried that I may trip over the cat. That confirms my place in the household pecking order….

If the next post is a bit bizarre, it’s the drugs….

Responses

  1. Motherhood, writing, teaching – all require a bit of dexterity with the truth … tons of good wishes on your op, and certainly being as youthful as you are will help enormously in your recovery. Leaping like a lamb, or indeed over a lamb, will ensue before you know it. Or should that be waistcoated cats?

    Keep us posted!

  2. Hi Gill – I had no idea you were going to be availing yourself of a bionic hip. Hope all goes well, you not-so-old hippie. xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

