Posted by: gillarbuthnott | September 11, 2012

A Narrow Squeak

Well, hello again. Me and my new hip are home now, and trundling round on sticks. I must say, the whole experience has been much less painful in every sense than I could ever have dreamed. If you’ve got a hip replacement coming up and you’re worried, you don’t need to be.

I did have one narrow escape though. I was originally down to have a joint where both parts are ceramic (I was hoping for a nice Wedgewood design), but the surgeon who was going to carry out the operation advised me to have ceramic for one bit and plastic for the other, as ceramic on ceramic joints can squeak! Just think, I could have been the world’s largest living cat toy…
And about the cat… Older child has realised we were having her on about the high viz jacket (see previous post if this doesn’t make sense), but Younger Child still hasn’t rumbled the ruse. He’ll be so annoyed if he does now that he’ll probably kick my sticks away.

Responses

  1. Good news – have been wondering how it’s gone. I’m away for a bit but it would be grand to catch up after that – especially now when you’re temporarily easier to catch?

    P.S. Do your children not read your blog?

    • Of course my children don’t read my blog! That would imply they’re interested in my life… I’d love to catch up – just let me know when you’re free and I’ll be here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

