Posted by: gillarbuthnott | October 28, 2012

Sore Brain…

My brain hurts… I went to see Looper yesterday. Don’t worry, there are no spoilers coming! It’s an excellent film but, as time travel related plots have a habit of doing, I feel as if I’ve had my mind in a blender for two hours. I was doing pretty well until the last five minutes, when I lost my grip on the reality of the plot (maybe the film did too…) and now I’m not entirely sure what happened. (Will happen? Will have happened?)

It’s whetted my appetite for a bit more time-travelling action though and, in the absence of Doctor Who, I shall return to one of my favourite SF novels, The End  of Eternity by Isaac Asimov. I’ll let myself read it as a reward when I finish Mrs Dalloway, which I feel as though I’ve been reading for eternity. It was one of those ‘duty reads’ that you think you ought to go through to show you’re a grown up. Sigh.

Much more to my liking has been Parade’s End, which I launched myself at on the back of the TV production. It’s  not the easiest read in the world, but it’s definitely worth the effort, and I had no idea it would be so funny in places. Hopefully, that one counts as a grown up read as well. Actually, it’s slightly time-travelly as well, in that the structure isn’t strictly chronolgical. Keeps you on your toes!

Leave a Reply

Categories

