Posted by: gillarbuthnott | November 23, 2012

The Next Big Thing…

Joan Lennon kindly tagged me for this. It’s a sort of online relay race for authors, which involves them answering some questions about the book they are currently writing. So here goes.

  • What is the title of your new book?

My forthcoming novel is going to be called Dark Spell – a wonderfully mysterious title (which I didn’t think up. I’m rubbish at titles. Fortunately my publishers, Floris Books came up with this one.)

  • Where did the idea for the book come from?

The characters and setting already existed, as it’s a sequel to my novel Winterbringers. I wanted to write something really creepy, and a visit to the tunnels under St Andrews’ castle gave me a great central idea. I wanted the events in the book to be grounded in the history of the area, but have a very strong supernatural element.

  • What genre does your book come under?

It’s a contemporary Scottish fantasy novel, with ghosts, witchcraft and history.

  •  What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie of the book?

I’m not going to put ideas into a reader’s head about my two main characters, teenagers Callie and Josh. I want the reader to invent them for themself! However, I did see a girl on TV last week who would be my perfect Callie… Maggie Smith, if she had nothing better to do, would make an excellent Bessie. Bessie is an elderly witch with a sharp tongue, who somehow grabbed all the best lines when I was writing the book!

  •  What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Reluctant teenage witch Callie and her friend Josh accidentally bring something very nasty indeed home with them from the tunnels under St Andrews’ castle…

  •  Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Like Winterbringers, Dark Spell will be published by Floris Books. My agents are Fraser Ross Associates.

  •  How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

About five months. But it’s after that that the hard work really starts: in other words, editing.

  •  What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

A very significant setting in the book is a place called Longman’s grave. A character in the book describes being shown it, and the skeleton it contained, many years before, and never being able to find it again. I didn’t make that up – it actually happened to a close friend of mine…

Leave a Reply

Categories

