Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 2, 2012

#2 Winter Wolves

wolf‘You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.’  (Saul Bellow)

All I can say is, lucky Saul Bellow. Assuming I can actually read what I’ve scrawled, half the time it’s incomprehensible rubbish, even though it made sense at 3.42am. There  is, however, the occasional diamond in there.

Today’s book is The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney. A perfect read for wintry weather. Set in Arctic Canada, it’s a story of love, murder and cold. It paints a vivid picture of the time and place, and the characters remain imprinted in my memory.

Responses

  1. I met a wolf once – many, many years ago now. Standing by a lake in the moonlight (in Algonquin Park, after it had officially closed for the winter, if I remember right) and it came down beside me, had a drink, and disappeared.

    • I am very jealous. That must have been truly amazing. A wee bit scary also? Although I seem to remember reading that they don’t attack able bodied adults anyway.


Leave a Reply

Categories

