Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 6, 2012

On the 6th day…

imagesCAHW1Y32Happy St Nicholas Day! I celebrated by buying the world’s cheapest pack of 100 fairy lights, after a major blow-out last year rendered my tree rather dark and dismal. As long as they last until 12th night, I’ll be happy.

A cat-lovers’ quote today: ‘Cats are intended to teach us that not everything in nature has a purpose.’ (Garrison Keillor) Another one which I love, but can’t find an attribution for: ‘Dogs have owners, cats have staff.’

Today’s book is by one of my all-time favourite authors, Alan Garner. He is one of the people whose books made me want to become a writer. It’s hard to pick just one – I may yet have to fight my way through the flames for another to join it –  but I’m choosing The Owl Service. Brilliant, unsettling, deeply creepy. Prepare for a sleepless night if you pick it up after dark…

Responses

  1. One of my favourite books of all time too! My brother and I used to quote bits at each other in a nerdy fashion (‘She wants to be flowers, but you make her owls…’) much to the irritation and bewilderment of the rest of the family.

    • I seem to remember a TV version too, which scared me witless…


Leave a Reply

Categories

