Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 8, 2012

Oh Possums…December 8th

imagesCA6YYVIBI am ridiculously over excited to have just opened an email telling me about Edna Everage’s farewell tour. I thought I had long ago missed my chance to be Gladdied live. My finger will be poised over the ‘buy’ button as soon as tickets go on sale. I’ve been a fan since she looked like this, long before she became a Housewife Superstar. I remember in particular she and Madge going round Anne Hathaway’s cottage and surmising that poor Anne had been a cripple, because of all the velvet ropes lining the route round the cottage!

And so today, it has to be  a quote from the Dame herself. ‘Never be afraid to laugh at yourself. After all, you could  be missing out on the joke of the century.’

My book of the day is Something Wicked This Way Comes by the master himself, Ray Bradbury. I used to pinch his books from my older brother’s bookshelf to read, terrified that he’d find out (my brother that is, not Ray Bradbury)  and extract some awful sibling revenge. Ray Bradbury inhabits a strange and marvellous version of Planet Earth, where the familiar becomes eerily unknown, and libraries are places of danger and salvation (as indeed they are)…

Leave a Reply

Categories

