Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 9, 2012

Decmber 9th – Pet Presents

imagesCABIB32FI’m sorely tempted by the teeny-weeny video camera I saw advertised, that clips onto your cat’s collar. It would be such fun to find out where Leonard goes when he’s out on the ran dan. On the other hand, as my son crushingly pointed out, you’d have to fast forward through seven hours of footage of his front paws as he lay asleep on the sofa…

So, in honour of sleepy cats everywhere, today’s quotation is actually a poem, by Eleanor Farjeon and, yes, I know the picture is of a dog; I just loved the resigned grumpiness of its expression.

 

 

 

Cats sleep
Anywhere,
Any table,
Any chair,
Top of piano,
Window-ledge,
In the middle,
On the edge,
Open drawer,
Empty shoe,
Anybody’s
Lap will do,
Fitted in a
Cardboard box,
In the cupboard
With your frocks-
Anywhere!
They don’t care!
Cats sleep
Anywhere

I would just like to add that their favourite place above all others is that pile of papers that you need access to now. Right now!

My rescued book of the day today is A Case Of Knives, by Candia McWilliam. A real ‘marmite’ book this one. I’ve lent it to several friends, and they’ve either loved it or can’t get on with it at all. Obvously I’m in the love it camp. I was dazzled the first time I read it, by her use of language: every single word considered and set in place so that the whole book was like a piece of literary jewellery. I go back to it every couple of years, and it never fails to delight me.

Responses

  1. Sleeping cats, I salute you! And I’ll look out for A Case of Knives, which is new to me. (Quite fancy that cat cam, as well – just have to teach my cat how to wear a collar first!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

