Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 15, 2012

December 15th: The Wisdom of Bush.

imagesCAPJ4X80The book I’m choosing to save today isn’t as well known as some of the others I’ve featured. I think its author has probably fallen out of fashion to some extent, which is a great shame. It’s The Masters by C P Snow, one of  his Strangers and Brothers sequence of novels. I collected and read these out of order, according to when I could pick up a second hand Penguin edition of each. (My copy of The Masters bears the legend 3’6. That’s about 17p.) The plot concerns the election of a new Master at a Cambridge college; doesn’t sound thrilling, I know, but the plotting and machinations certainly are. The Masters had to slug it out in my brain for inclusion with anotherof the sequence, The Light And The Dark, and won by the narrowest of margins.

And for today’s quote, I turn to George W Bush again, hoping against hope that I can emulate him. ‘I have made good judgements in the past. I have made good judgements in the future.’

Leave a Reply

Categories

