Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 22, 2012

December 22nd

imagesStarted the process of fighting my way round the food shops today. Still, the turkey’s in the fridge now, so it was worth the horror. At least I’m only catering for a family Christmas lunch and not a festive party – here’s one of my favourite party quotes, from the inimitable Terry Pratchett:

“I said I hope it is a good party,” said Galder, loudly.
“AT THE MOMENT IT IS,” said Death levelly. “I THINK IT MIGHT GO
DOWNHILL VERY QUICKLY AT MIDNIGHT.”
“Why?”
“THAT’S WHEN THEY THINK I’LL BE TAKING MY MASK OFF.”

I can’t think why it’s taken me so long to save today’s book from the flames; my  copy is dogeared and sellotaped and very much in need of replacing with a new one. It’s To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, and I’m fairly sure I don’t need to explain why it’s on my list. And for once, do watch the film. I can’t imagine a better Atticus than Gregory Peck. You know, my husband has always yearned for a pet pig, just so he could call it Gregory Peccary… Sad but true.

Leave a Reply

Categories

