Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 23, 2012

23rd: Christmas Eve Eve!

imagesCAK78X01Apart from the unseasonal weather, I’m feeling very Christmassy now. The house is decorated, the fridge is full. Tomorrow it’ll be time for a trip to the German Market and a mug of mulled raspberry wine. And some Nurnberger sausages. And Knudlen. And stollen.  All of which makes today’s quote a bit worrying…. ‘Tell me what you eat and I will tell you what you are.’ (Brillat-Savarin)

Answers on a postcard please? Perhaps not.

My final book choice (something a bit different tomorrow) is The Once And Future King by T H White. I’ve  loved the Arthurian legends since I saw The Sword in the Stone when I was 5 or 6. Over the years I have read many versions, from Marion Zimmer Bradley’s feminist reimagining, The Mists of Avalon, to Philip Reeves’ bleak Here Lies Arthur andRosemary Sutcliffe’s stripped-back Sword at Sunset and this is my favourite by a long way. From the comedy of the opening with Wart and Merlin, to the inevitable tragedy of the ending the characters grow, heroic at times, but also fatally flawed, and always deeply human. It’s definitely time I read it again.

Hmmm… I wonder if Terry Pratchett’s ever thought of doing a version? I’d love to read that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

