Posted by: gillarbuthnott | January 10, 2013

What Are Post-Christmas Girls Made Of?

rookWell, I can’t speak for anyone else, but I am now approximately 30% chocolate, 30% cheese, 30% alcohol, 9.9% human and 0.1% rook. I don’t think I need to explain the cheese, chocolate and alcohol parts, but possibly the rook bit is more unexpected.

My friend Graham arrived to spend New Year with us, bearing (as usual) many edible, drinkable and readable presents. Among the comestibles was a packet of rook breasts (bought from a farmers’ market in Burnley, rather than hunted down by him). As someone who is always keen to widen my culinary experience of the animal kingdom, this was a Splendid Present. (One of my few regrets is missing the chance to buy hedgehog from the Gypsy Butcher round the corner when I lived in Southampton, many years ago.)

I can now tell you that rook is very tasty indeed – somewhere between hare and liver. I’d certainly eat it again, but you’d need a lot of breasts if you were entertaining (I wonder how many internet filters will block that sentence?) as they’re pretty small.

Here’s to more interesting food in 2013!

Leave a Reply

Categories

