Posted by: gillarbuthnott | January 28, 2013

Back to Work…

writingI’ve been very neglectful of the blog because I’m back at work.

Not the paid-at-the-end-of-every-month work, (although I’m back at that as well), but the possibly-never-paid-at-all work, otherwise known as writing.

I’ve had a bit of a break from actually creeating new stuff, as I’ve been doing a lot of revising and editing of books that are coming out later this year. When I take a break like this, I always worry that I won’t be able to start ‘proper’ writing again, and indeed, it isn’t easy. I need writing to be a daily habit for things to flow properly, and I get out of the habit, so I have to re-establish it. The first few days are hard, as my subconscious finds endless distractions and ‘urgent’ tasks for me. It’s all too easy not to pick up the pen and the A4 pad, but I just have to keep plugging away and tell myself it doesn’t matter how much I write, or even what I write, just so long as I write something.

Fortunately, after a week or so, it gets easier, and I can now breathe a sigh of relief as I discover, again, that I haven’t completely forgotten how to do it. So, I am back to writing more or less every day and, importantly, enjoying it again. Of course, it might be total rubbish, but that’s another neurosis…

Leave a Reply

Categories

