Posted by: gillarbuthnott | February 12, 2013

When The Lights Go Out…

374869This is where I’ve spent the last few evenings.

Well, not physically. But I’ve been there in my imagination. I’ve been copyediting my next novel – Dark Spell – and this is one of the settings.

Where is it? I hear you cry. It’s under St Andrews Castle. In the book I talk about the tunnels under the castle, but their official names are the mine and countermine. The mine was dug by besiegers trying to break in in the 15th century, and the countermine by defenders, trying to take the besiegers by surprise. Eventually the two tunnels met, with bloody consequences.

Dark Spell is set in the present day, and something very eerie indeed happens in the tunnels when the lights go out…

I wanted to write a deeply creepy ghost story and I certainly made the hair stand up on the back of my own neck at some points during the writing of it. Only time will tell if I can scare other readers as well as myself!

If you want to find out more, you won’t have long to wait. Dark Spell is published by Floris Books  and will be out in April.

Responses

  1. Good on yer!


Leave a Reply

Categories

