Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 5, 2013

Life through a lens

Fale_-_Spain_-_Barcelona_-_14I’ve just spent a wonderful few days in Barcelona, which I have never visited before, and which I loved. I learned more about architecture than I have done during the rest of my life, and now feel that I’ve slightly overdosed on Gaudi and shiny tiles. I also – be amazed, those who know me – went on a tour of the Nou Camp with football-mad son, so I know much, much more about FC Barcelona than I ever expected to in my wildest dreams/worst nightmares. (Actually, it was quite impressive. Even to me.)

BUT, one thing that came to annoy me more and more, wherever we went, was the number of photos being taken. I get the impression that a lot of people don’t think something exists unless they’ve photographed it. Fair enough, but they seem to forget to actually look at things using their eyes and brains, so obsessed are they with seeing it through their camera/phone/ipad lens. Surely a photograph isn’t an adequate substitute for engaging your brain, and all your senses, in the present moment?

Of course, by using a photo here, maybe I’m being a hypocrite. Anyway, it was my favourite detail of all the buildings we looked at: the snail on top of one of the towers of Barcelona cathedral.

Leave a Reply

Categories

