Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 21, 2013

Comfort Books

f47064a09cd24f382ffc7f811930e13bLet me say straight away that I have stolen this idea from the excellent Girls ♥ Books blog entry by Stephanie Burgis. I don’t know why the idea of comfort books hadn’t occurred to me before. Goodness, knows, I’m enough of a fan of comfort food that it should have been an obvious extension of the idea.

Anyway, here are a few of my comfort books: books I re-read every few years, knowing I’ll get hours of pleasure from them, and that I’ll probably find something new in them, even umpteenth time through.

 

  • To Kill A Mockingbird Harper Lee
  • Pride And Prejudice Jane Austen
  • Villette Charlotte Bronte
  • A Case Of Knives Candia McWilliam
  • Captain Corelli’s Mandolin Louis de Bernieres
  • Witches Abroad Terry Pratchett
  • Sunset Song Lewis Grassic Gibbon
  • The Time Traveller’s Wife Audrey Niffenegger
  • The Masters C P Snow
  • Doomsday Book Connie Willis
  • Can You Forgive Her? Anthony Trollope
  • Cold Comfort Farm Stella Gibbons

This list is getting out of hand, so I’m going to stop now. What are your comfort books?

Leave a Reply

Categories

