Posted by: gillarbuthnott | May 20, 2013

News From The Bookshelves

pile-of-booksIt’s a while since I’ve written anything about what I’ve been reading. I haven’t given up reading, or writing about it, but sometimes life gets in the way.

However… on my Recently Read pile at the moment are two crackers: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce, and The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey, both of which are first novels. I’m already looking forward to their next ones.

I’d been looking forward for some time to reading Skios by Michael Frayn, but while I loved the stolen identity set up, I was disappointed by the ending. I’d expected things to be tied up more tightly, but instead something that seemed quite foreign to the book was suddenly parachuted in. Hmmm…

And finally, a treat for all those who, like me, are addicted to words: The Horologicon by Mark Forsyth, perfectly described on the cover as  ‘A day’s jaunt through the lost words of the English language.’ It’s full of words I hadn’t realised I needed, notably philogrobolized, described as ‘the morning after the carnage before.’  That would have come in especially handy during my student days…

Responses

  1. Loved Harold Fry, too. It’s on our Book Group’s list for later this year and I’m hoping everyone else agrees. A big fan of Michael Frayn, too, but haven’t read Skios yet. Will bear your remarks in mind when I do. Cheers!

    • I’ll be interested to know what you think of Skios when you get round to it. Maybe it’s just me – I do like Michael Frayn.


Leave a Reply

Categories

