Posted by: gillarbuthnott | August 27, 2013

Bookfest #4

miss_havisham_500I’ve fallen behind, writing about events I’ve attended, so here’s a roundup.

I’ve pondered the rise of teen fiction with Keith Gray, Sita Brahmachari and Tanya Byrne, in an event that included a brilliant reading from Keith’s book, Ostrich Boys.

I’ve asked myself ‘Where have all the brave girls gone?’ along with Kate Mosse, Samantha Shannon, Julia Donaldson and John Marsden. A very enjoyable event, but I felt it ducked out of offering any sort of answer to the question it posed.

Ronald Frame and Maurice Leitch spoke about their respective new books, about Miss Havisham and William Hare (as in Burke and Hare). That would have been interesting enough, but they also spoke at length about how they write. I’m always fascinated to hear other people’s working methods.

The picture today is my favourite Miss Havisham, Gillian Anderson, who burned very prettily in the latest TV adaptation of Great Expectations. (Why is the character so often played by actresses who are much too old?)

Leave a Reply

Categories

