Posted by: gillarbuthnott | November 23, 2013

Recently, I have mostly been reading…

imagesCA0P36ZB… School reports, exam papers and baffling information about the new Highers, if I’m honest. But I have found some crevices into which to squeeze a bit of reading for pleasure.

I read my first new Anthony Trollope for ages (New to me, that is. I’m pretty sure he wrote it a while ago.): Miss Mackenzie. Hmmm… bit of a ‘meh’ book, if I’m honest. I’m currently battling my way through Middlemarch by George Eliot as my bedtime reading.  I’m  glad it’s in e-book form as it would be too heavy to read with only one hand poking out from the covers if it was a proper ink-and-paper book. It’s been a long haul, but I have become gradually fascinated by the goings-on of Dorothea, nasty Rev Casaubon and, especially, poor Dr Lydgate. I fear things are not going to end well for him…

A friend lent me The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Now, this is a book I have been resisting for some time because I thought it had been massively over-hyped. First comment is what a gorgeous looking book it is. Go and pick it up in a real bookshop and be seduced by it as an object. Anyway, I fell totally in love with it. In fact, I want to go and live in it. Damn it for being fiction. Perhaps I can dream my way into it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

