Posted by: gillarbuthnott | June 8, 2014

The Toughest Readers in Town!

imagesCANVSE21I must start by saying thankyou to The Edinburgh Bookshop for inviting me to talk to their terrific Children’s Book Group last Wednesday. The weather was so bad that I seriously considered building an ark to get there, and I did wonder if anyone would be hardy enough to turn up… I needn’t have worried. Over 20 people, from 6 to 15 years old, swam to the bookshop to take part. Now, I’ve never talked to such a mixed age audience before, but it worked really well. They are all, obviously, passionate readers (or they wouldn’t have left their own houses on a night like that) and they listened hard and questioned me closely. All those prophets of doom who moan that no one reads any more should meet them! Many thanks to Cat, who runs the book group, for inviting me along.

As for the writing, I’ve reached that happy point where I’ve become obsessed with the novel I’m working on, and I’m thinking about it, even when I’m not actually writing it. I’m so looking forward to finding out what happens next – it’s still a mystery to me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

