Posted by: gillarbuthnott | July 20, 2014

Goodbye Gilbert…

GetAttachmentWell, Gilbert the gull has gone, for good or ill, last seen flapping off down the road. It was fun while it lasted, Gilbert…

I had a very enjoyable visit to Broughty Ferry Library last week as part of the Tesco ‘Mythical Maze’ summer reading challenge. I was amazed that so many people came along on such a lovely afternoon – thanks to all of them for making it such an enjoyable visit. I did my ‘imagine what would happen if two really different characters got together’ bit and they came up with two brilliant ideas:

Scooby Doo meets James Bond

The Simpsons meet Sherlock Holmes

I can’t decide which I like best, but they both have fantastic comic possibilities! Above is a photo – courtesy of the Dundee Courier – of some of the audience.

And this week, for now at least, it’s back to write, garden, write. I’ve got to write about scorpions tonight, then I’ll reward myself with an hour pushing the novel forward. I’ve got to get my characters onto a train, but they’re going to have to do a bit of running around first!

I made the mistake of picking up The Hunger Games again a couple of days ago, and once again, it had to be pried from my fingers before I could get on with anything else. If anything, I’m even more impressed second time round (currently halfway through Catching Fire…)

 

Responses

  1. Sounds great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

