Posted by: gillarbuthnott | August 15, 2014

Bookfest Blog #1

untitledI’ve been too overloaded with culture to get blogging recently (I know, another feeble excuse). Got all my theatre-going for the year in one huge dose last week when I went to see all 3 of The James Plays (seven and a half hours) in a single day. Luckily, they were stunningly good. I enjoyed the middle one most, although it seems to have been least popular with the critics.

So, to the Book Festival, where I started with ‘Reading the City’ a sort of literary tour of Edinburgh hosted by James Robertson, with special guest Sir Walter Scott! Could have been cheesy, but was actually brilliant. I’d love to know more about ‘Scott’. Is he an actor? A Scott expert?

images0W2QJPHBThis was followed by a happy hour in the company of George R R Martin, who did at least confirm that someone will be left alive once A Song of Ice and Fire reaches its conclusion. Actually, I was really impressed with the care taken by people asking questions not to include spoilers for those who haven’t read up to the end of the current book.

A L Kennedy mesmerised me yesterday with a short story from her latest collection ‘All the Rage’. She is as marvellous a speaker as she is a writer; funny, fierce and generous. The only downside is that she makes me despair of ever writing another word. I could try until the end of time and never produce a paragraph of writing of that intense rightness.

Oh well, sometimes all you can do is tell the story.

Leave a Reply

Categories

