Posted by: gillarbuthnott | August 21, 2014

Bookfest Blog #2

untitledI’ve been to 2 excellent reading workshops over the weekend. The idea of these is basically like a book group (but without the wine) in that a group of people discuss a single book that they all – hopefully – love. Sensibly, the book festival restricts the participants ( they are definitely more than an audience) for these events to 25, so everyone gets a chance to say what they want. The ones I attended were on Sunset Song by Lewis Grassic Gibbon (chaired by Karen Campbell) and The Owl Service by Alan Garner (chaired by Kathryn Ross), two of my very favourite books. I’ve read them both many times, but these events certainly brought out aspects of the writing/themes/story/background I hadn’t been aware of, and I emerged from each one wanting to read the book again very soon.

images8Q5A2MKAThis is the cover of the beautiful new Folio Society edition of The Owl Service.

Goodness knows when I’ll get time though. I’m concentrating on preparing for my own events on Tuesday and Wednesday this week. I’m always convinced I’ll forget everything I know when I get on stage, and though it hasn’t happened yet, I do like to massively over-prepare, just to reassure myself! I’m talking about What Makes You You? at 3pm on Tuesday 19th, and doing a schools event to launch this year’s Pushkin Prize at 10am on Wednesday 20th. See some of you there, I hope!

Leave a Reply

Categories

