Posted by: gillarbuthnott | September 29, 2014

Back to the books at last….

imagesAs life gets into a more normal routine, I’ve actually had time to start reading again (well, a few pages at bedtime didn’t really count). I’d been looking forward to Gill Lewis’s new novel, Scarlet Ibis, and it more than met my expectations. I think it’s her best yet (and I’ve loved her other titles), with a deeply satisfying multistranded plot that manages to be hopeful without being unrealistically optimistic. A friend had lent me one of Christopher Fowler’s Bryant and May series of rather strange crime novels, and I’m hooked. What’s not to love about a detective who threatens suspects with his false teeth? Delighted to see there are plenty more of them! I’m now gobbling my way through Mary Renault’s Fire From Heaven, not for the first time. I’d forgotten just how much I love both her plots and her writing. I think this could be the start of a bit of a Renault binge…

Had a lovely visit to Hillside Primary in Dundee last week, and I’m off to the Catalyst Centre in Widnes on Saturday (more reading time on the train), so keeping busy with visits.

AND… I have at last returned to my poor neglected novel. Hoorah! It seems pleased to see me. I thought it might scratch me and run away, but it doesn’t seem to be harbouring any hard feelings…

Responses

  1. I live in hope that one of those books could be one of mine, recently published. lol 🙂

    • I hope it will be, one day soon. What sort of books do you write?

      • Oh, the first two is about my true life stories written in two different ways. The first one is written like a novel in the third person, with a sense of humour and the second one is written in the first person, also with a sense of humour. You may view them on my blog home page if you like. I am hoping to complete the third book soon, which is not about my life, as one can only write about their life, at the most, twice. Thanks so much for asking. I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. It was never really angry, just disappointed …

    • …as it had every right to be!


Leave a Reply

Categories

