Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 14, 2014

Christmas Countdown #2: In which my faith in human nature is restored…

imagesJust occasionally, something happens that makes you think that humans aren’t one of evolution’s great mistakes after all. It doesn’t have to be a big something – I’m not talking world peace here – and Friday provided one of those moments.

It had already been a good day, with a smashing visit to Clyde Valley High School, where I was welcomed by kind staff, enthusiastic pupils and delicious cake. (Thankyou all!) I caught the train home, and since it was a cold night, and I was late, I got a taxi home from the station.

A couple of hours later the doorbell went, and when I answered, there was a vaguely familiar man standing there. It turned out to be my taxi driver, who had come back to give me a £10 note I had dropped in his taxi without noticing.

Isn’t that the kindest thing? We split the money, and I would love to think that he bought a winning lottery ticket with his fiver, and spent the weekend celebrating. He certainly made my weekend.

Thankyou again, Edinburgh’s kindest and most honest taxi driver. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Categories

