Posted by: gillarbuthnott | January 12, 2015

Books Bite Back

untitledI’m delighted to read articles that bolster my belief that the imminent death of the ink-and-paper book isn’t about to take place after all, and there have been a couple of notable ones recently. E book sales have apparently flattened out at about 30%, Kindle sales have slowed right down, and even ‘young people’ prefer a real, actual, physical book. And then Mark Zuckerburg of all people tells us to read physical books! Splendid stuff indeed. I’m just trying to imagine how high the slush pile of books that he’s been sent by publishers desperate to get a recommendation from him….

I’ve just finished reading The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell. I’ll do a proper book blog soon, but for now, suffice it to say it’s the strangest book I’ve read in a long time.

I’m still being bullied by the new character in the latest novel. It’s great! I’m getting much more writing done than usual; she just won’t take no for an answer. I must remember to put a bossy woman in all my books from now on.

Responses

  1. Granny Weatherwax is alive and well and living in your head?

    • I wish! Or at least… I think I do. This one isn’t a witch, but she’s proving to be quite a handful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

