Posted by: gillarbuthnott | February 1, 2015

And just like that, it’s February…

imagesJQ5V8O7OMy goodness, it’s been a busy couple of weeks! On the schooly side of things, I’ve had 1 Parents’ Night and 2 Burns Suppers apart from all the usual teaching, marking and report-writing. One of the Burns’ Suppers featured what is surely the only Immortal Memory ever to have referenced both Islamic State and Kim Kardashian’s backside – and in a way that made sense in context.

On the writing side, I was fortunate enough to attend Scottish Book Trust’s ‘New Writers Showcase’ on Thursday, to listen to extracts from  the work of the 2014 winners. I must confess an interest here, since I am lucky enough to be mentoring one of them – the splendid Lyndsay McKrell, whose work I’m sure you will all be able to read soon. There’s a terrific range of writing represented, in Gaelic, Scots and English; poetry and prose; short story, novel and non-fiction. You can download the sampler here and see for yourself, and there are all the authors in the picture above.

And my own writing is going well – I’m still being bossed by my new character, and she’s pushed me close to the 70K word mark now. Onwards!

Leave a Reply

Categories

