Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 5, 2015

Time to draw breath…

9574881-largeI am still here, honest. Just finished one of the most intense teaching terms I’ve ever had, the high point of which was definitely watching the eclipse with my year 7 science class. We were unbelievably lucky with the weather and most of the school seemed to be out with telescope projectors, pinhole cameras, buckets of water, polaroid filters and assorted other viewing equipment. It’s the sort of event that makes me remember why I love teaching.

On the writing front, I’m working really hard on the novel, and getting ready to do an event at the Edinburgh Science Festival at 2.30 on the 18th: A Beginner’s Guide to the Human Brain. Do come along so that I can mess with your mind, heh heh… I’m also doing a 10 minute pop-up event that morning at the Royal Scottish Museum that morning, if you fancy a taster.

Yesterday, I helped to judge the Festival’s Sci-Ku contest (that’s Scientific Haikus). It was great fun and there were some great haikus. I will put a link up here as soon as the winners are announced.

Leave a Reply

Categories

