Posted by: gillarbuthnott | January 11, 2016

Goodbye Bowie

Heroes A side.tif

Heroes A side.tif

Like many thousands of people, I woke up this morning to the sad news of David Bowie’s death. Bowie was part of the musical background to which I grew up: the first record I every owned was Space Oddity, an 11th birthday present from my brother. My years as a student played out against the angry background scribble of punk, in all its dingy glory, but the musical foreground was Bowie, Queen, Dylan, The Stones, and Roxy Music.

I was lucky enough to see him live during the Serious Moonlight tour, one of the high points of my gig-attending history (along with The Stones at Wembley).

Whenever I listened to or saw him I was entranced by his ideas, and they just kept on coming. How could one man have such an imagination? I bought Black Star on Friday and haven’t even had time to listen to it right through yet. I think I’ll take my time.

Responses

  1. Rewatched Labyrinth not so long ago – loved him in that! The man left a legacy, for sure.


Leave a Reply

Categories

