Posted by: gillarbuthnott | August 5, 2016

Time to read again…

imageHaving quit the day job, I’ve at last got a bit more time to read – something that has been particularly lacking in the past year. At the moment, a fair bit of it is Book Festival related: re-reading Mary Renault (never a chore), and working my way through the amazing Alpha… Directions, by Jens Harder, for instance.

But I’ve also been doing some ‘leisure’ reading, so here’s a rundown of what I’ve enjoyed in the past month or so.

The King Must Die and The Bull From the Sea by Mary Renault (come on – how could that not be reading for pleasure?)

Golden Son by Pierce Brown. The excellent second part of the Red Rising trilogy, rather brilliantly described on the cover as ‘Homer meets Homeland’.

Jar City by Arnaldur Indridason. A new dose of Scandi crime for me, the first of a series set in Iceland. I shall certainly be back for more.

The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley. Unsettling, but not half as scary as I’d expected.

Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery. Yes, really. 99 pence for all 10 books on Kindle. How could I resist revisiting Avonlea? A few chapters before bed each night – better than cocoa.

And lastly, wiping away the occasional tear, The Shepherd’s Crown, Terry Pratchett’s superb final Discworld novel.

Responses

  1. The ones I know – delicious. The ones I don’t – bring it on!


Leave a Reply

Categories

