Posted by: gillarbuthnott | April 13, 2017

Easter Editing

Image result for writer writingI am busy editing a novel draft at the moment, and in particular, making sure the timelines work. You know the sort of thing: have I put two Tuesdays in one week; have I made a character give birth three months after the pregnancy started; has it been summer for nine months? All very embarrassing if you get them wrong – and someone will always notice. Then there’s the matter of names. Some of my main characters don’t have surnames yet… No one will care what their surnames are, I can hear you saying. But they still have to be right, because they won’t seem real to me, otherwise, and if they’re not real, I can’t write about them. And did I mention they’re Italian, so it’s harder for me to know if I’ve got them right for the place (Naples) and period (1620ish)?

None of this is very enthralling, but it is vital. Get it wrong, and you basically make your reader run into a wall if they spot one of your mistakes. And then what happens to the all-important suspension of disbelief??

Responses

  1. I’m guessing this is the adult novel, Gill. I’m looking forward to reading it when it’s published. The sense of place is really strong in your writing and a virtual trip to Italy could be a great tonic!!

  2. Young adult, I think. Let’s just hope someone wants to publish a gothic YA novel set in Naples!


Leave a Reply

Categories

