Posted by: gillarbuthnott | December 3, 2012

Day 3: Bull by the Horns

bull1First snow of the winter last night, but all gone now…

‘Anyone can do any amount of work provided it isn’t the work he is supposed to be doing at the moment.’ (Robert Benchley) Tragically true, for me at least.

Today’s book – you might have guessed from the picture – is The King Must Die by Mary Renault. My copy is dog eared from repeated readings. I love Greece, and especially Crete, and this is the best evocation of that vanished civilisation and the myth of Theseus. Read it and let your imagination warm you up on a cold day.

Responses

  1. Yes! I want to be Mary Renault when I grow up!

    • I don’t think I’d ever be grown up enough to be her!


Leave a Reply

Categories

